Table 2

ABIM MOC Requirements Effective January 2014

Major Changes in 2014
MOC requirements will apply to all diplomates (including “grandparents”)
MOC will be a continuous process:
  • Complete at least 1 MOC activity by December 31, 2015 and every 2 years thereafter

  • 100 points required every 5 years

MOC will include new patient survey and patient safety modules every 5 years
MOC examination will be required every 10 years
Time-Based Requirements
Every 2 years: Complete at least 1 MOC activityEvery 5 years:
100 MOC points
Patient survey module
Patient safety module
Every 10 years:
Secure examination


ABIM = American Board of Internal Medicine; MOC = Maintenance of Certification.